The Wall Built By Hurt

Uncategorized

The hardest thing to let go of is not love or old relationships, it’s hurt. Hurt builds up a wall that you feel safe behind, and you feel as if nothing can attack you as long as you hide behind the wall built by hurt. This a false protection. You think you are protecting yourself by containing feelings & never being vulnerable in any situation, but in actuality you are cutting yourself off from everything genuine. You are burying your true feelings so deep that you believe that what you choose to express is real. You may be preventing disappointment or discouragment, but you are also preventing love, peace, and happiness from entering as well. All because you want to hold onto that hurt.

Hurt will overstay it’s welcome, it is not a gentleman.

Before long, you won’t even realize just how much you are affected as a person because of the hurt that you refuse to let go. The wall built by hurt makes you feel safe, it makes you feel as if you have some type of control and power, but when you are crying at night.. when you are all alone.. when you are overcome by your thoughts.. you break down to the core. 

 

I used to always believe I had to be strong. I couldn’t let anyone in on my weakness. I had to suck it up, and I had to deal with it on my own. That was just a lie from the pit of hell. Why can’t I cry it out sometimes? Why can’t I love when I want to love? If I feel like telling someone why they are special to me, why can’t I? Because I couldn’t get over the wall I created myself, built with hurt.

 

God wants you to let it go. Today. Give it to Him. When you are crying late at night, call on Him & let Him in. In our weakness, He is strong. He doesn’t want you destroy all your relationships. He doesn’t plan for you to walk around wondering who is going to hurt you next or who is so and so’s real motive. He doesn’t want you to be hidden from experiencing life. He doesn’t want you to hold back love. He doesn’t want you to be torn away from His love or the love of His people. He doesn’t want to be on the other side of the wall built by hurt. Especially when He has all the tools to break it down. 

It may take some time before you are comfortable without your wall of hurt up, but all He needs is your permission. God I want to let it go. I don’t want to be strong in myself anymore, but strong in you. I want to be able to love, and love freely. I want to be able to rest. I want to let it go. 

Do not be afraid to feel. Love freely. Forgive daily. Lean on God’s shoulder.

 

Psalms 55:22 Cast your burden on the Lord, and He shall sustain you; He shall never permit the righteous to be moved.

Matthew 5:4 Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

1 John 4:18 There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out all fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love.

2 Cor 12:9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

Psalms 62:8 Trust in Him at all times, you people; pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us.

Psalms 55:16-18 As for me, I will call upon God, & the Lord shall save me. Evening & morning & at noon I will pray, & I will cry aloud, & He shall hear my voice. He has redeemed my soul in peace from the battle that was against me. For there were many against me.

Psalm 73:26 My flesh & my heart fail; but God is the strength of my heart & my portion forever.

Psalms 138:3 In the day I cried out, You answered me, & made me bold with strength in my soul.

2 thoughts on “The Wall Built By Hurt

Leave a Reply

