Loving again..

Articles

It’s very easy to cut off people, to shut them out of our lives (I am guilty of this). It’s very easy to say “you are in conflict with my purpose & I’m sorry but you just have too many problems & I don’t need your issues in my life”. There is a such thing as watching the company you keep, yes. There is a such thing as someone being a dream-killer, yes. There are certain people who hold no place in your life, yes. For these people, there is wisdom. There is also a Heavenly Father. Me being honest with myself, I have put the burden of relationships on my Heavenly Father, meaning that I say to Him, “God I trust that you will send the right people into my life, and if needed, you will remove the wrong people. Please give me wisdom as well to distinguish between the two”. My topic is loving again, so back to that. It’s easy to put people off as critics, haters, and drag-a-longs… but if they have not made an exit out of your life, and you are still present in theirs, why are you not trying to love them? No more of this, “You aren’t on my level, so you need to get it together before you can hang with me”, NO. Is this the type of God we serve? Is that what Jesus told people? Jesus says, you don’t need to be at this level for me to work with you, Jesus says, I will come to wherever YOU ARE & I will build you up. God is not limited to “where we are”. He will meet you where you are & deal with you there! Then proceed to build you up to the height He has for you! I’m really radical when I get to my “Gotta Get Back To Love” beliefs; so you’re saying love people even though they aren’t as “Christian” as me (whatever that means)? YES. You’re saying love people even if they’re not ready to walk fully as a Christian? YES. You’re saying show love to someone who may later be my enemy? YES. And even if they become an enemy, YES.
Me personally, I’m guilty of doing this to people who are close to me. One day God dealt with me on this. I had just finished ministering to someone, just a prayer & I gave them some scriptures to study, and God came to me like SMACK. And I said well hello Heavenly Father just doing your work, taking numbers, getting dates, kingdom living, blasé, blasé. And in just an instant, the Holy Spirit revealed to me what was going on. It was clear as day, “Taylor how can you love one person that doesn’t have everything together with such an immense love & pure heart, but here is someone who may have been in your life longer, have a little bit more history with you, and love is nowhere in your heart. You speak the same language to this person, almost. Because with this person you are little spiteful, a little hurt. Deal with that”. We must be careful to not just throw away everyone. Yes, Jesus came to divide, but not throw away. Many times it may be easier to show love to people you don’t know because they have not hurt you! But as Christians, we must learn to love people on ALL levels, the SAME way. We must actually love MORE. People may have hurt you in the past, you may have had some horrible arguments so show them something different! Show them your new spirit! You ARE a new creature, out with the old, in with the new, but that doesn’t necessarily mean that everyone in our lives belongs in the trash. If your parents were Christian people, taught you about God, you go get saved & then you come to them well I’m a new creature & God is dealing with me so I must do away with you, they will look at you like you’re crazy! LOL. Like I said before, this does not mean everyone must stay in your life, and you can hang with the same people you used to, but if you’re as strong in Christ as you say you are, you will be able to love with a greater love. This is how I look at it for certain individuals such as family members, close friends, etc I say, for whatever reason, you are in my life. And if you are ever to leave, I don’t want you to leave without feeling the love of God from me. I don’t want you to leave without hearing me talk about the gospel. I don’t want you to say you KNEW me and did NOT feel love, you did NOT hear a scripture. Because then I would have failed you, not the other way around.

One last thing, if nothing else convinces you to love even more than ever, think on this.. you may be the only person that they come into contact with in their lifetime that has the gospel memorized by heart, and that has God, Jesus, & the Holy Spirit on speed dial.. so if you can’t love them, how will the receive the very thing they NEED?

I know there are many ways to look at this, many ways to interpret, and a lot of varieties of people. I can hear it now, “well what about this? And what about him, he ain’t nothing like this? And her, she nawh, she NEED to leave my life, it’s her fault? And she came from the devil himself I know it!! God will send somebody else cause I can’t help him!!” etc etc etc. You discern your situation lined up with what I said, and if you still aren’t sure how this person fits into the scheme of things, pray about it. Christians love saying Pray about it, but YES PRAY ABOUT IT! Let God orchestrate your relationships, no one ever thought of that! Divine connections, righteous relationships! Ask God for wisdom on how to love if a person is unlovable! If you have wisdom, but can’t love then what good is that? “Suppose I speak in the languages of human beings & of angels. If I don’t have love, I am only a loud gong or a noisy cymbal. Suppose I have the gift of prophecy. Suppose I can understand all the secret things of God & know everything about him. & suppose I have enough faith to move mountains. If I don’t have love, I am nothing at all. Suppose I give everything I have to poor people. & suppose I give my body to be burned. If I don’t have love, I get nothing at all” (1 Cor 13:1-3). The message is simple, although we complicate things & try to tailor it to our own likings, but it’s simple. LOVE. “But the greatest of these is love (1 Cor 13:13)

Luke 6:31 Do to others as you would have them do to you.
Ephesians 4:2 Be completely humble & gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.
1 John 4:7 Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God & knows God.
Proverbs 17:17 A friend loves at all times, & a brother is born for adversity.
1 John 4:8 Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.
Luke 6:35 But love your enemies, do good to them, & lend to them without expecting to get anything back. Then your reward will be great, & you will be sons of the Most High, because he is kind to the ungrateful & wicked.

Leave a Reply

